Central Methodist University Joins Psi Chi

CMU chapter of international honor society installed

Central Methodist University has announced the establishment of a campus chapter of Psi Chi, the international honor society in psychology.

The CMU Chapter was installed on April 22. The faculty advisors for the new chapter are Drs. Elizabeth Gold and Jacqueline Anson, assistant professors of psychology.

Charter members of the chapter include Dr. Anson; Heather Bernat (junior, psychology major, Montgomery City), Shawnie Jones (junior, psychology major, Chula), Briana Kirkland (senior, criminal justice and psychology major, Bullard, Texas), Haylee Paull (senior, criminal justice and psychology major, Russellville),

Heather Schmucker (senior, psychology major, Baxter Springs, Kan.), Rebecca Vollmer (senior, psychology major, Boonville), Victoria Warren (junior, psychology major, Fayette), Sarah White (junior, computer science and psychology major, Knoxville, Tenn.), and Kyra Williams (junior, psychology major, Knob Noster).

Chapter officers also were elected. They include President, Shawnie Jones; Vice President, Ali Schmucker; Secretary, Sarah White; and Treasurer, Kyra Williams.

Psi Chi was founded in 1929 at Yale University. Its purpose is to encourage, stimulate, and maintain excellence in scholarship, and to advance the science of psychology. Many of the Society's members have gone on to distinguished careers in psychology.

Psi Chi is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is an affiliate of both the American Psychological Association (APA) and the Association for Psychological Society (APS). Psi Chi has grown over the past 83 years into one of the largest honor societies with 1,120 chapters throughout the world.

The society offers research awards, sponsors programs at convention, and publishes the Psi Chi Journal of Psychological Research.

InducteesFront row from left: Sarah White, Shawnie Jones, Haylee Paull, and Kyra Williams; back from left,
Faculty Advisor Dr. Jacqueline Anson, Rebecca Vollmer, Briana Kirkland, Heather Bernat, Victoria Warren,
Ali Schmucker, CMU Provost Dr. Rita Gulstad, and Faculty Advisor Dr. Elizabeth Gold.


Posted April 24, 2014