Honors To Nursing, Athletic Training Students

34 new nurses pinned

Honors and awards have been presented by the Central Methodist University Division of Health Professions at the close of the 2012-13 academic year.

CMU pinned 34 new nurses during a special event, held Friday, May 10 on the night before Commencement ceremonies. Five of them received special awards, according to Megan Hess, chair of the health professions division.

Two CMU athletic training students have also been named recipients of special awards.

Senior recipients of nursing awards included Chasarae Alcorn from Fredericktown, the Missouri League for Nursing Award; Wayne Bishop from Boonville, the Erwin and Hazel Wiedel Award; Brooke Brandt from Sullivan, the American Nurses? Association Award; Haley Claunch from Osage Beach, the Outstanding Nurse Clinician Award; and Katie Peterson from Marceline, the Outstanding Nurse Scholar Award. Each also received their nurse?s pin.

The CMU Athletic Training department presented two awards. The Glenn McElroy M.D. Athletic Training Student Academic Excellence Award went to Shelby Reed, a senior athletic training major from Columbia. Tristan Taylor, a senior athletic training major from Ozark, received the Mark and Kathy Dempsey Athletic Training Student Clinical Excellence Award.

Eight other nursing students gained individual honors from the Nursing program. They include Ashley Arrowood, a senior from Columbia, a Penn Scholarship; Addison Foote, a sophomore from Sedalia, a Penn Scholarship; Amy Fuemmeler, a freshman from Salisbury, the Cheryl Bartholomew Memorial Nursing Scholarship; Harold Hildreth, a sophomore from Hallsville, a Penn Scholarship;

Carrie Marston, a senior from Columbia, a Penn Scholarship; Jill Petzel, a freshman from Columbia, a Penn Scholarship; Kayla Vanzant, a senior from Columbia, a Brisley Phillips Scholarship; and Katelyn Witte, a junior from Hermann, a Brisley Phillips Scholarship.

The nursing pin is a type of badge worn to identify the nursing school from which they graduated. It is a symbol of academic preparation, recognizing graduating students for completion of rigorous education and training in preparation for work as a professional nurse. Pins are traditionally presented to new nurses by faculty at a pinning ceremony as a symbolic welcome into the profession.

Senior nursing students who were pinned on Friday night included:

Chasarae Alcorn, Fredericktown; Hannah Alvarez, Columbia; Lindsey Beauchamp, Columbia; Wayne Bishop, Boonville; Ashlie Bliss, Columbia; Mary Boik, Columbia; Brooke Brandt, Sullivan; Abby Casper, Columbia; Hailey Claunch, Osage Beach; Patricia Cox, Columbia; Kortney Curtman, Ashland; Amy Eise, Maryland Heights;

Megan Ellis, Columbia; Sydnie Gerber, Shawnee, Kan.; Olivia Gregory, Bowling Green; Sara Ham, Lake Winnebago; Shelby Harlan, Kansas City; Lindsay Hendrix, New Franklin; Chelsea Higgins, Saint Peters; Kaley Jordan, Newburg; LaDeena Leaton, Fayette; Rachel Meyer, Vichy; Cynthia Noland, Sunrise Beach; Katie Peterson, Marceline;

Rebecca Porter, Pleasant Hope; Erika Reinagel, Kelso; Sarah Robertson, Columbia; Susan Robertson, Liberty; Krista Sommer, Salisbury; Ben Thelen, Ashland; Megan Tophinke, Bowling Green; Alex Underwood, Jefferson City; Olivia Wenstrom, McHenry, Ill; and Lindsey Williams, Columbia.


Originally posted May 15, 2013



Posted July 16, 2013