CMU Fine and Performing Arts Department Awards

36 students honored in May celebration

Talent can be recognized and honored by anyone who sees a musical or theatrical performance at Central Methodist University in Fayette. Applause, laughter, standing ovations are all ways to show appreciation for the talent and skills of CMU students. But once a year comes a chance for students to be recognized by their peers and by their faculty in music or theatre, and often both.

This spring, three dozen Central Methodist University Fine and Performing Arts students were formally honored for their outstanding work in music and theatre by the Swinney Conservatory of Music and the Theatre Department.

Some of the music awards come from national organizations that promote music and music education, including the National Association for Music Education - Collegiate; the Music Teachers National Association; the American Choral Directors Association; and the Missouri Federation of Music Clubs. Several of these groups have collegiate chapters on campus.

Local student chapters of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia and Sigma Alpha Iota also present two awards for contributions to the chapter and to CMU, and two awards for the highest grade point average in their respective chapters.

Other awards in music are named awards, established in honor or memory of people who have had an impact on Swinney Conservatory. The Dane Nelson Memorial Award, in memory of a Central graduate who died in an automobile accident; the Luther T. Spayde Award, in memory of the founder of Central's A Cappella Choir and long-time dean of the Conservatory; and the R. Paul Drummond Memorial Award, in memory of the choral director of 25-plus years are some of the awards in this category.

Ten students received Little Theatre Frederick Awards (better known as the Freddies), named after CMU's late drama professor Fred Rhoads. These honors recognize excellence on the stage in leading and supporting roles and assistant director or stage manager, among other student functions.

Additional recognition is given to those music and theatre majors with academic achievement (3.5 or better GPA on 4.0 scale) and top scholar (4.0 GPA) status.

Students honored this spring:

Darrell Bailey (graduating senior, Kansas City)--Dr. Joseph E. Geist Award in PerformingArts and Best Male Actor in a Leading Role

Lakyn Baker (junior, Fayette)--W.D. Settle Award, academic achievement

Cal Bergthold (senior, Paris)--academic achievement

Abby Bostic (junior, St. Louis)--Phoenix Award in Theatre, academic achievement

Jordan Brennan (graduating senior, Marshall)--Outstanding Student Director, academic  achievement

Jessica Carter (junior, Columbia)--academic achievement

John Critchlow (graduating senior, St. Charles)--Dane Nelson Memorial Award, academic achievement

Chanel Daugherty (sophomore, Columbia)--academic achievement

Paul Davis (freshman, Hannibal)--Most Versatile Theatre Player

Zack Fincher (sophomore, Lebanon)--R. Paul Drummond Memorial Award

Sam Gaddy (sophomore, Waverly)--academic achievement

Levi Gerke (freshman, Pilot Grove)--Missouri Federation of Music Clubs Beatrice K. LiuMemorial Piano Award, Swinney Conservatory Outstanding Freshman Award, top scholar

Dakota Gladbach (graduating senior, Brookfield)--Best Male Actor in a Supporting Role

Sara Glynn (graduating senior, Dixon)--Prof. Paul A. Montemurro Award, academic achievement

Donald Heaton (graduating senior, Chillicothe)--Phi Mu Alpha Sinfornia Collegiate Honor Award, Conservatory Honors Program Award, academic achievement

Susan Henke (freshman, Salisbury)--top scholar

Kate Kellner (junior, Strafford)--Best Female Actor in a Leading Role and Best AssistantDirector/Stage Manager, academic achievement

Kayla Kelly (graduating senior, Pleasant Hill)--Sigma Alpha Iota Collegiate Honor Award

Mary Rose Lehman (junior, Robertsville)--academic achievement

Austin Long (sophomore, Monroe City)--Luther T. Spayde Award

Daniel Long (junior, Odessa)--academic achievement

Ali Maples (graduating senior, Huntsville)--academic achievement

Luke McKinney (senior, Harrisburg)--Raney Winter NAfME-C Award

Robert Mobley (freshman, Monett)--academic achievement

Rebekah Monroe (freshman, Lebanon)--Outstanding Newcomer in Theatre, top scholar

Michael O'Neill (graduating senior, Pleasant Hill)--Phi Mu Alpha Sinfornia Scholastic Award, academic achievement

Shamika Pegue (graduating senior, Kansas City)--Martin E. Kooi Excellence in Theatre Arts Award and Best Female Actor in a Supporting Role

Ann Marie Pelley (sophomore, St. Peters)--Helen Puckett Thogmorton Award for Excellence in Music, top scholar

Jessica Powell (graduating senior, Laclede)--Sigma Alpha Iota Scholastic Award

Zach Razafinjatovo (senior, Kansas City)--Shop Superstar in Theatre

Jamie Rector (freshman, Jefferson City)--academic achievement

Calley Rogers (graduating senior, Lebanon)--American Choral Directors Association National Student Choral Musician Award, academic achievement

Shelby Rogers (freshman, Monroe City)--academic achievement

Rebecca Shroyer (junior, Boonville)--Martin C. Harrall Award

Aubrey Taylor (senior, Columbia)--Nancy Thompson Jones GEM Award, academic achievement

Hannah Utlaut (graduating senior, St. Charles)--academic achievement

Derek Volkmann (junior, Franklin)--Music Teachers National Association Student Achievement Recognition Award, academic achievement

Joslyn West (graduating senior, Macon)--Hickman Award for Music

Hershel Williams III (sophomore, Buffalo)--academic achievement

Originally posted May 28, 2013


Posted July 16, 2013