‘Peer-to-Peer’ Students Step Up

Tutors, assistants, and associates help lead fellow classmates to success

August 31, 2017

Peer-to-Peer 2017As stated at the core of its mission, Central Methodist University prepares students to make a difference in the world by emphasizing academic and professional excellence, ethical leadership and social responsibility.

More than 50 CMU students already are carrying out this mission right on the Fayette campus through the student organization, “Peer-to-Peer” – a group of individuals who step up to help mentor, guide, and support fellow students.

The organization is comprised of student tutors, library assistants, lab assistants, and writing associates. These leaders help their peers develop strategies to master course content, and develop the skills necessary for success.

“Peer-to-Peer provides the foundation of a community that supports faculty and students as CMU lives its mission,” said Maryann Rustemeyer, director of CMU’s Center for Learning and Teaching, and associate professor of English and mathematics. “These young men and women are an important part of the academic life at CMU.”

The following students are members of CMU’s Peer-to-Peer program:

Zachary Adams (Clinton), a senior education and mathematics double major; Emily Angell (Centralia), a junior chemistry major; Jordan Ankrom (Farmington), a junior environmental science major; Catherine Barnard (Columbia), a sophomore nursing major;

Marlow Case (O’Fallon), a junior mathematics major; Hannah Clark (Kansas City, Kan.), a senior communications major; Anna Colwell (Concordia), a sophomore nursing major; Mackenzie Cullifer (Moberly), a senior athletic training major;

Miranda Dahman (Harrisonville), a senior English and history double major; Peyton Davis (Fayette), a senior biology major; Emily Day (Wellsville), a senior music education major; Rachel Dorman (Jefferson City), a junior biology major; Catherine Dovin (Jackson), a sophomore marine biology major; Taylor Ellebracht (Boonville), a sophomore biology major;

Miranda Emmerich (Prairie Home), a junior accounting major; Makenzie Erikson (Independence), a junior education major; Emilie Faust (Columbia), a sophomore interdisciplinary studies major; Crystal Flagg (Erie, Pa.), a senior biology major;

Blake Hackman (Glasgow), a junior physical education major; Devin Henderson (Branson), a junior biology and health sciences double major; Skyler Hime (Raymore), a senior biology major; Joshua Hunt (Perryville), a senior biology major; Stephanie Kitchen (Sturgeon), a sophomore elementary education major;

Caitlyn Landewee (Leopold), a junior biology major; Darcy Latham (Bismarck), a senior business major; Brittany Lawson (Jefferson City), a senior biology major; Mikaela Lewis (Harrisburg), a senior music education major; Kylie Limback (Waverly), a sophomore biology major; Logan Lindsay (Hallsville), a sophomore biology major;

Emilee Long (Lake Saint Louis), a sophomore nursing major; Christopher Marsh (Mount Vernon), a sophomore athletic training major; Daisy Miller (Hume), a senior biology major; Abigail Moore (Fayette), a senior athletic training major; Arnold Mukisa (Fayette), a sophomore computer science major;

Gabriel Navarro (Juarez, Chihuahua, Mexico), a sophomore business major; Collin O’Connell (Fayette), a senior pre-major; Saundra Perkins (New Franklin), a junior education and elementary education double major; Kaitlyn Rogers (Carl Junction), a senior accounting major; Kaleigh Schaefer (Boonville), a sophomore health sciences major;

Christina Schatz (Pawnee, Ill.), a senior biology major; Akeel Spears (Gasparillo, Trinidad and Tobago), a freshman exercise science major; Destiny Stallo (Salisbury), a junior criminal justice major; Tyler Steger (Sedalia), a senior history major; Madolyn Stodgel (Boonville), a sophomore biology major; Brooke Striegel (Holts Summit), a sophomore business major;

Michelle Surratt (Boonville), a sophomore biology major; Marshall Thompson (Wyaconda), a senior environmental science major; Natalie Van Horn (Raymore), a sophomore marine biology major; Ryan Vogelgesang (Pacific), a junior history major; Miranda Weigand (Weatherby), a senior chemistry major; and John Will (Columbia), a sophomore mathematics major.